International Treaties

Malta has a vast network of double tax treaties with important trading countries and emerging economies in order to encourage the growth of international trade. Malta’s double tax treaties are modelled on the OECD’s Model Tax Convention on Income and on Capital, and attempt to eliminate or reduce double taxation.

To date treaties are in force with 73 countries rendering considerable advantages to businesses who have chosen to establish legal entities in Malta and individuals who have chosen to relocate in Malta.

The following table is an updated list with all the countries Malta has signed a DTT:

Albania Georgia Liechtenstein Serbia
Australia Germany Lithuania Singapore
Austria Greece Luxembourg Slovakia
Azerbaijan Guernsey Malaysia Slovenia
Bahrain Hong Kong Mauritius South Africa
Barbados Hungary Mexico Spain
Belgium Iceland Moldova Sweden
Bulgaria India Montenegro Switzerland
Canada Ireland Morocco Syria
China (P.R.C) Isle of Man Netherlands Tunisia
Croatia Israel Norway Turkey
Curacao Italy Pakistan Ukraine
Cyprus Jersey Poland United Arab Emirates
Czech Republic Jordan Portugal United Kingdom
Denmark Korea (R.O.K) Qatar Uruguay
Egypt Kuwait Romania Viet Nam
Estonia Latvia Russia  
Finland Lebanon San Marino  
France Libya Saudi Arabia